The Three Children Of Fatima

Angeline Tan
4 min readOct 24, 2019

And what I liked most about each of them.

Photo taken from: https://sspx.ca/en/news-events/news/fatima-13-august-1917-49790

Some time back, I watched a religious-themed movie that was filmed in 1952 called “The Miracle of Our Lady of Fatima”. Intrigued by the storyline that was based on a true event, I read up on the three seers who saw the Blessed Virgin Mary to find out what sorts of characters they were as well as their reactions upon seeing the Blessed Virgin Mary in Fatima, Portugal.

A while later, I came across a book written by Fr. Karl Stehlin, a Catholic priest, on the subject of Fatima as well as on the three seers. This book, titled, “Fatima, A Spiritual Light For Our Times”, was an eye-opener for me because I gained more insight into the lives and spiritualities of the three Fatima children, namely, Lucia, Jacinta and Francisco who saw the Blessed Virgin Mary many times, sometimes amidst crowds of eye-witnesses, in the year 1917. As a Roman Catholic myself, I found this book to be particularly memorable because I could derive some practical insights based on the Fatima apparitions and the lives of the three children after they saw the Mother of God. Here are some of my takeaways from the book and from the lives of the three visionaries.

Francisco Marto

The only boy out of the three children who saw the Blessed Virgin Mary, Francisco Marto was aged 9 and the brother of Jacinta…

--

--

Angeline Tan

“To serve the Queen of Heaven is already to reign there, and to live under her commands is more than to govern.” — St. Jean-Marie Vianney